All the dangerous things – Stacy Willingham

Today, I’m talking to you about a book that I almost missed! Simply because my mind was elsewhere and it wasn’t the time to read it. But he is, in fact, the worthy little brother of a crush!

I love Stacy Willingham when I thought I hated her. A Flicker in the dark presented itself as a basic novel, but it was one of my best reads this year. All the dangerous things was therefore going to be the book that would transform the essay or suggest a stroke of luck.

Let’s break the abscess right now, even if it is (very) slightly below the previous one, I loved this novel (and it’s not a sequel!). Stacy Willingham has this little writing trick that giving you ALL the elements of the solution, while drowning them enough in her plot so that you don’t pay attention to them and they only make sense at the very end. Nothing is left to chance. But, just like heroin, everything that’s right in front of you, just, you won’t see it.

I loved every character. All human. All fallible, full of defects and suspect by the simple fact of their existence. They have this little thing that makes them real.

All the dangerous things is a novel that is not going to look like a block buster, or even a thriller as you can read elsewhere. This novel is a thriller, which settles in, which mystifies and which draws you into a police spiral without respite. It’s not thrilling, but it’s not flat. Stacy Williams masters her novel.

Isabelle Drake, her character, explains during her presentation to TrueCrime that « no one wants to feel too uncomfortable », explaining that it is necessary to integrate lighter parts into an oppressive story to allow relaxation. The author uses her own advice in this novel. Plunging you into his character’s nightmare then returning to anecdotes and more joyful slices of life, without losing the rhythm.

We don’t talk enough about reading time. Sometimes it’s not the right one. With our minds focused on another novel, a movie we want to see, music we want to listen to, we risk missing out on good stories. It almost happened to me with this novel. Luckily I let it sit for a bit. Because, just like « A flicker in the dark », it’s a novel that makes me say that Stacy Willingham is definitely a name to follow.

Laisser un commentaire